2 comments on “Worse off than before…

  1. It saddens me to read the anger in your message. Having been a nurse for 25 years, I have had an opportunity to encounter co-workers with a view similar to that you expressed. The sad part is that you attitude has little to do with nursing school and more to do with you. As a mail, entering into a predominately female profession so many years back, I can tell you that I experienced difficulties and blatent discrimination from some instructors and nurses with whom I worked. I was married and had two children, worked full time. I struggled, just as many students did, but never once did I ever experience the negative emotions you express. Nursing school should not be easy. Do you want the “C” student assessing, planning and implementing your care? I want the best and the brightest to lead the team caring for me. That is the role of the registered nurse. While one might argue that a “C” student may be just as compassionate and caring as an “A” student, I want the best prepared nurse taking care of me. I pray that you step back and decide if this is the right career choice for you. I would not want to be on the receiving end of care from someone so angry.

  2. Nursing is indeed a tough program, but that is to ensure a competent nurse in the field. Indeed, the C students tend to drop out towards the end of the first year, but that could just boil down to poor learning technique or downright poor test taking ability. Also, I doubt that nursing should consume everyone’s time, but only a good portion of it. Now that I’m in second year of nursing, care plans take about a day or so to finish. What I’m more concerned about is how to become a damn fine nurse on the floor who can make the worst case scenario a cake walk.

    @Bryan
    I do agree with the fact that most of this post does concern more about the person. However, I cannot fully agree with whom I would want as a nurse. There are some “A” students that I would never want as my nurse cause they are too demanding (aka perfectionists), very intimidating, and somewhat lacking compassion that would normally be there for a “B” or “C” student. Of course, I want the best prepared nurse, but there are some who were born for clinical application stuff.

Leave a Reply

